Pictures from our walking tour and the train tour - Vieux Marche. Cs- Craftsmith, bronze shimmer paper - HOTP, pp- Craftsmith, Echo Park (black), alphas and numbers - Echo Park, chipboard - Prima, burlap images - Prima, ink - Tim Holtz, Tsukineko , die-cut - HOTP, rub-ons - RAK, tiny brads - ?. Used a sketch
Journaling: page 1 - Extending east 2 blocks, Vieux Marche is a segment of Biloxi's earliest thorough fare. Later named Howard Ave, it was the heart of downtown with stores, bank theaters and 2 way traffic. During urban renewal in the early 1970s, the road was named Vieux Marche, which means Old Market. Several buildings from the 1890s survive.
Eistetter Building - now Brown & Mitchell Engineering, at 796 Vieux Marche features one of two distinctive cupolas in downtown. It was constructed by John Eistetter, a brick mason. The finely detailed frieze is a unique feature of this building.
Dukate Theatre - now Bancorp South is a 2 story building at 760 Vieux Marche and still retains its balconies and grand presence. Fan windows over rectangular ones on both first and second stories elicit the grandeur of the theatre as do the square half Doric columns.
Journaling: page 2 - Old Peoples Bank - now Ellzey's Hardware/ & Dale Partners Architects at the eastern end of downtown. The Victorian styled building at 750 Vieux Marche was the original Peoples Bank. Its cupola is topped by an ornamental weather vane featuring a large witch carrying a broom and sitting on a fingernail moon. The bank was located here until 1924.